Today's Top Words:
manchester city united man against derby premier one would team season game guardiola games p
Full Ballon d’Or ranking 2019: Lionel Messi wins award and sets new record

Below is a summary of the full article. Click here for the full version or go back to MCFC Live

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award for 2019 (EPA)

Lionel Messi has set a new record by becoming the first player in history to win six Ballon d’Or trophies.

The Barcelona forward edged out Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to win the award, while the Argentine’s long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who did not attend the ceremony on Monday evening, finished in third place.

Messi, who lifted the coveted trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, helped Barcelona win La Liga this year and led Argentina to third place at the Copa America in July.

Meanwhile, Van Dijk was a pivotal part of Liverpool’s Champions League win this year and has been instrumental in the team’s push for the Premier League title.

The Dutch defender was one of seven Liverpool players on the shortlist alongside Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Georginio Wijnaldum, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino.

Messi has won six Ballon d’Or trophies during his career. (AP Photo) Virgil van Dijk and his wife Rike Nooitgedagt at the Ballon d’Or award ceremony (AFP via Getty Images)

‘To the journalists and my colleagues with whom I win and lose, I remember my first Ballon D’Or in Paris, when I arrived with my brothers, now I pick up the sixth, and this was absolutely unthinkable,’ Messi said after picking up the award.

Advertisement Advertisement

‘I never stopped dreaming and enjoying football like when I was a child.

‘I hope I have more years to enjoy, although I am aware of how old I am, everything happens very quickly and I know that the moment of retirement is approaching.’


1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
6. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
7. Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
9. Bernardo Silva (Man City)
10. Riyad Mahrez (Man City)
11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona)
12. Raheem Sterling (Man City)
13. Eden Hazard (Real Madrid)
14. Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
15. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)
16. Sergio Aguero (Man City
17. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
18. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona)
19. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
20. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)
=20. Dusan Tadic (Ajax)
22. Heung-Min Son (Tottenham)
23. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
24. Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)
=24. Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)
26. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
=26. Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)
28. Donny van de Beek (Ajax)
=28. Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)
=28 Marquinhos (PSG)

Elsewhere, Megan Rapinoe won the women’s Ballon d’Or after guiding United States to their fourth World Cup title in France this summer.

More: Liverpool FC

Virgil van Dijk trolls Cristiano Ronaldo at the Ballon d'Or awards

FA Cup third round draw: Liverpool vs Everton; Man Utd vs Wolves; Arsenal vs Leeds United

Michael Owen makes predictions for Chelsea and Arsenal ties & Liverpool vs Everton

Advertisement Advertisement Share this article via facebookShare this article via twitterShare this article via messengerShare this with Share this article via emailShare this article via flipboardCopy linkShare this article via facebookShare this article via twitter MoreAlisson BeckerCristiano RonaldoFC BarcelonaKylian MbappeLionel MessiLiverpool FCManchester City FCMohamed SalahPremier LeagueRobert LewandowskiRoberto FirminoSadio ManeVirgil van DijkMichael Owen makes predictions for Chelsea and Arsenal ties & Liverpool vs EvertonThe Christmas craze making the workplace more fun this festive seasonWayne Rooney makes unlikely prediction as Liverpool face Everton in Merseyside derbyLiverpool front runners to sign Dortmund's Jadon Sancho, claims former Premier League star View article comments »

For more news relating to Everton, visit our sister site EFC Live.
Click to visit Metro | Click to return to MCFC Live
Share MCFC Live

Dont Buy The Sun

rss icon

Arsenal News - Chelsea News - Everton News - Liverpool FC News - Man City News - Manchester United News - Newcastle News - Spurs News - West Ham News - Celtic News - Rangers News - BeIN Sports Schedule - Internet Commentator Database - Shortwave Radio Schedules - < - Contact

©2018 MCFC Live.

Valid XHTML 1.0 StrictDont Buy The Sun [Valid RSS]